hdr isap

The International Society of Anti-Infective Pharmacology is an interdisciplinary scientific society for the study of pharmacodynamics and pharmacokinetics and for the improvement of dosing of anti-infectives.

Please make a selection in the submenu on the left to see more about our organization.

  • President


    Brian Tsuji, PharmD
    University of Buffalo, New York, USA
    This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
  • Treasurer


    Zack Bulman, PharmD
    The University of Illinois, Chicago, USA
    This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
  • President-elect


    Sebastian Wicha, PhD
    University of Hamburg, Germany
    This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
  • Council


    • Roger Nation, PhD; Monash University, Sydney, Australia
    • Hartmut Derendorf, PhD; University of Florida, Gainesville, FL, USA
    • Lena Friberg, PhD; Uppsala University, Sweden
    • Elizabeth Lakota, PharmD; Institute of Clinical Pharmacodynamics, Albany, NY, USA
    • Justin Lenhard, PharmD; California Northstate University, Elk Grove, CA, USA
    • Elisabet Nielsen, PhD; Uppsala University, Sweden
    • Ursula Theuretzbacher, PhD; Center for Anti-Infective Agents, Vienna, Austria
    • Markus Zeitlinger, MD; Medical University of Vienna, Vienna, Austria
  • Past-presidents


    • William A. Craig, MD, Madison, WI (Founding president; president -1991-1994)
    • Otto Cars, MD, Uppsala, Sweden (1994-1996)
    • Mike N. Dudley, PharmD, San Diego, CA (1996-1998)
    • Paul M. Tulkens, MD, PhD, Brussels, Belgium (1998-2000)
    • George L. Drusano, MD, Gainesville, Fl (2000-2002)
    • Johan W. Mouton, MD, Nijmegen, The Netherlands (2002-2004)
    • Hartmut Derendorf, PhD, Gainesville, Fl (2004-2006)
    • Fritz Sörgel, PhD, Nürnberg, Germany (2006-2008)
    • David Andes, MD, Madison, WI (2008-2010)
    • Alasdair P. MacGowan, PhD, Bristol,UK (2010-2012)
    • Paul Ambrose, PharmD, FIDSA, Latham, NY, USA (2012-2014)
    • Ursula Theuretzbacher, PhD, Vienna, Austria (2014-2016)
    • Roger Nation, PhD, Sydney, Australia (2016-2018)


The Society was created officially in 1991, but found its roots in informal and formal meetings among attendees of ICAAC and other major Conferences deraling with Chemotherapy around the years 1986-1989. An historical landmark in this venture was a meeting held in Stockholm, Sweden, in June 1989, organized by W.A. Craig (Madison, WI) and Otto Cars (Upssala, Sweden) where several of the future founding members discussed the importance of pharmacodynamics and pharmacokinetics for the apropriate, and possibly improved use of antibiotics.

Continue Reading

ISAP is closely collaborating with EPASG - ESCMID (European Society for Clinical Microbiology and Infectious Diseases) PK/PD of Anti-Infectives Study Group

Apply for membership

Anyone with an interest in PK/PD, dosing, resistance of anti-infectives, and outcome of antimicrobial therapy can apply to become a member of ISAP. We welcome applications from everywhere worldwide.

Apply for membership



Questions, answers, comments on PK/PD in the anti-infective drug area!
Login is necessary